How can we improve the PI Server?

Extensible analytics

As a process engineer I would like to be able to integrate complex specific calculations, such as from a 3rd party analytics engine, so that I can use the Asset Analytics and its context with all the available data and scheduling to run those without needing to do custom heavy development.

80 votes
Sign in Sign in with OSIsoft
Signed in as (Sign out)

We’ll send you updates on this idea

AdminTodd Brown (Product Manager, OSIsoft) shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

13 comments

Sign in Sign in with OSIsoft
Signed in as (Sign out)
Submitting...
  • mclark commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

Without going into to great detail, I agree with Samuel Clark's comments around the ease of integration. We deployed the Matlab production server and were getting significant value out of the ability to write custom functions to complete the transfer of excel based monitoring to AF- everything from simple solutions like excel's SumProduct, iterative solvers or ML algorithms. These can all be done individually by sending data out with the Pi integrator but they cannot be deployed efficiently or easily by average users

• Steven Paine commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

My organization also uses ACE calculations to perform complex calculations (Utilization, Furnace Efficiency) and would welcome the introduction of a third party analytics engine as an add-on and means to expand the functionality and robustness of AF Analytics. Initial thought was AF Analytics was set to be the heir-apparent to ACE; unfortunately  without the infusion of third party analytics into AF I don't see that happening.

• Steve Edwards commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate