How can we improve the PI Server?

Custom functions for the analysis service

As a developer, I would like the analysis service to support custom functions that I write using AF SDK.

105 votes
Sign in Sign in with OSIsoft
Signed in as (Sign out)

We’ll send you updates on this idea

AdminKeith Fong (Team Lead, AF & Analytics, OSIsoft) shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

Update: This may not be relevant to all subscribers of this idea. Previously we informed via a status update that native MATLAB integration is now available in the 2018 release. This integration will no longer be included with the PI Server starting with PI Server 2018 SP2 release. Please see status on https://feedback.osisoft.com/forums/555148-pi-server/suggestions/17742490-custom-functions-for-the-analysis-service for more details.

10 comments

Sign in Sign in with OSIsoft
Signed in as (Sign out)
Submitting...
  • rpalmen commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

I appreaciate the step back! While Matlab provides scaleability performance and capabilities on the high-end of the spectrum, there is still a demand on the lower end.
    I do understand the complexities and pitfalls involved (remember Custom DR's), but there should / could be a midway, just like PI Vision seems to strike a midway with it's extensibility. E.g. leaving the data delivery to the custom function to the analysis service, but having the capability to use e.g. C# to implement custom functions within that limited frame.After all we don't want to go back to the days where we open, render and parse Excel files in an ACE module...

• Diego Curras commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

Customer would like to have the following possibility: