How can we improve the PI Server?

Multiple instances for Asset Analytics

As a PI administrator I would like to be able to create multiple instances of "PI Analysis Service" windows service for these reasons:
- avoid new potentially problematic analysis from affecting the ones that are operational and working correctly by setting one production instance and one test instance for example.
- every instance could have its own log files and we could move some analyses to a new instance to troubleshoot them
- make possible to distribute the resources usage for asset analytics on more than one server

151 votes
Sign in Sign in with OSIsoft
Signed in as (Sign out)

We’ll send you updates on this idea

Wagner Lima shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →

36 comments

Sign in Sign in with OSIsoft
Signed in as (Sign out)
Submitting...
  • juergen.b.schmidt commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

This feature is heavily needed.
    When building up central servers like AF you are facing questions about how you can guarantee that some random changes from one user does not affect the work of another user. For AF itself this can be done by the usage of different AF Databases. But for Analysis we don't have this possibility right now.
    A single user could kill the analysis service by the rollout of thousand calculations done eventtriggered (default) instead of periodically. This is quite some risk, different user are not willing to take. Therefore we need to maintain a seperate AF and SQL Server for these users increasing our cost and maintenance efforts unnecessarily.

• AdminStephen Kwan (Product Manager, OSIsoft) commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

Thanks for your feedback. We're looking at your Usecase1 right now via tech support escalation. As to Usecase3, the upcoming release should help you if your CPU is not being fully utilized. We'll reach out to you via your existing tech support case (Usecase1).